Together, they focus on a shared goal:

Creating a world without cancer.


People: Advisors

Director's Advisory Board

They may not be working in the Center’s laboratories, but their assistance and guidance are invaluable. This Director’s Advisory Board helps guide the Purdue University Center for Cancer Research in securing funds – an important aspect of any research-based institution. They assist the Center for Cancer Research director, Dr. Timothy Ratliff, and the executive committee set goals and identify opportunities for public, governmental and private fundraising.

Current Director's Advisory Board Members:

    • Ms. Beth Bangs
    • West Lafayette, IN
    • Mr. Donald Dunaway
    • Naples, FL
    • Mr. Todd Gilman
    • Manhattan Beach, CA
    • Ms. Donna Heckler
    • St. Louis, MO
    • Ms. Jennie Jones
    • West Lafayette, IN
    • Ms. Paula Klipsch
    • Carmel, IN
    • Ms. Joy Matson
    • Rossville, IN
    • Mr. Rick Miller
    • Plymouth, IN
    • Ms. Martha (Marti) Schmidt
    • Naperville, IL
    • Mr. Don Schoeff
    • Huntington, IN
    • Ms. Marcy Ziek
    • Cincinnati, OH


    • Ms. Linda Rohrman
    • Lafayette, IN

Drug Evaluation Committee

The overall goal of this committee is to help the Center for Cancer Research increase the number and quality of lead therapeutic molecules in development in the drug discovery pipeline at Purdue University, specifically those drugs with the potential to treat or prevent cancer.

    • Dr. John Landis (Chair)
    • 12240 Montcalm St.
      Carmel, IN 46032
    • Dr. Gunda Georg
    • Professor and Head, Medicinal Chemistry
      College of Pharmacy
      University of Minnesota
      Minneapolis, MN
    • Dr. James S. MacDonald
    • President
      Chrysalis Pharma Partners, LLC
      385 Route 24, Suite 1G
      Chester, NJ 07930
    • Dr. Philip Hipskind
    • Senior Research Fellow
      Eli Lilly
      Indianapolis, IN
    • Dr. Homer Pearce
    • 84 Clifden Pond Road
      Zionsville, IN 46077
    • Dr. Ivan Horak
    • Chief Scientific and Medical Officer
      Symphogen A/S
    • Dr. Catherine Strader
    • Artemis Partners, LLC

External Advisory Committee

The Center’s External Advisory Committee is composed of outside authorities in cancer research. These twelve scientists’ expertise drives research initiatives in cancer drug discovery and evaluation, target validation, DNA damage-response mechanisms, toxicology, antitumor agent development and engineering, among others. Their objective insights and guidance are integral to the continued progress of the Purdue Center for Cancer Research.

Cell Identity and Signaling

Chemical and Structural Biology

Drug Delivery and Molecular Sensing

Medicinal Chemistry


    • Lisa Sideras
    • The Wistar Institute Cancer Center
      Philadelphia, PA

Liaison Committee

The University Liaison Committee provides guidance to the PCCR regarding its interaction with other Purdue University entities, and pathways to attain its strategic goals.


  • Purdue University Center for Cancer Research
    Hansen Life Sciences Research Building
    201 S. University Street
    West Lafayette, IN 47907-2064

  • Phone: (765) 494-9129
    Fax: (765) 494-9193
    Contact us with questions at:

© Copyright 2014 The Purdue University Center for Cancer Research is the first NCI funded Center in Indiana.